About time. 

   

A creek I hadn’t noticed before

Part of the reason I’m miserable is that I’ve gained back the 40 lbs I lost 3 years ago. What’s worse is first 25 lb gain was deliberate. I had a bad experience that really shook me and I wanted to hide. It’s easier for people (namely me) to think you’re single if you have some major flaw vs. being naturally  unattractive. The assumption is that you can do something about the former; with the latter you’re just screwed. I’m the latter. I initially lost the weight by running and was in the best shape of my life, back then. However, I stilll wasn’t “enough” and realized I was never going to be. I chose to hide and eat in order to cope. 

Now, I’m tired of being uncomfortable, wearing ill-fitting clothes, achy bones and not making eye contact with anyone. My fat is holding me back, in a different way than I’d expected. I knew being fat would make me invisible, but i became invisible to myself in the process. I didn’t matter at all. 

So, tonight I ran. It’s only one run, but I hope it’s enough to stop the hamster wheel of insanity I’m on. I want to start enjoying life instead of continually wishing for it to be over. 

    From my front door, post-run

 

One thought on “About time. 

  1. Pingback: About time.  | Misstee12's Blog

Leave a Reply

